Skip to content


AfriFOODlinks invests in direct food system change in 5 African Hub Cities and invites 10 African and 5 European Sharing Cities to join them on a mutual-learning journey, to share their innovative food systems work and to co-design pilot projects for implementation in each Sharing City.

Through a diverse set of AfriFOODlinks interventions, these cities will become beacons of inspiration for urban food systems transitions across the continent. Novel practices, methodological guides, and public awareness toolkits will be developed and shared with 45+ Network Cities in Africa, Europe and Global South regions, who can adopt, adapt and replicate outcomes.

Explore the city profiles below:

City of Cape Town

Hub City – Cape Town, or the Mother City, is South Africa’s oldest city, its second-most populous and the legislative capital. It is made up of a diverse population, a rich history, world-famous tourist attractions and an exciting calendar of international and local events.

Mbale City

Hub City – Mbale is located in southeastern Uganda and is an agricultural trade Centre for Uganda.


Hub City – Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso’s capital and largest city, with a population of approximately 4 million, grapples with food and nutrition insecurity that mirrors the national situation.


Hub City – Tunis, the capital and largest city of Tunisia, is home to about 2.7 million inhabitants and guides much of the policies and direction across the rest of Tunisia.


Hub City – Kisumu County, located in western Kenya, is characterized by its scenic landscapes, including the shores of Lake Victoria, and serves as a vibrant economic and cultural hub with a rich history and diverse communities.


Sharing City – Bukavu, situated on the shores of Lake Kivu in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, is a bustling city known for its picturesque landscapes, vibrant markets, and its role as a gateway to the stunning Virunga National Park.


Sharing City – Arusha is a city buzzling with food stalls and markets, learn more about this city’s food system.


Sharing City – Montpellier, located in southern France, is a vibrant city renowned for its historic architecture, lively cultural scene, and the charming ambiance of its medieval streets.


Sharing City – Lisbon, Portugal’s coastal capital, enchants with its historic charm, vibrant neighborhoods, and panoramic views from its iconic hills.


Sharing City – Milan, a global fashion and design hub, is Italy’s financial and industrial powerhouse, boasting iconic landmarks, artistic treasures, and a sophisticated culinary scene.


Sharing City – Bonn, situated on the banks of the Rhine River in Germany, is a charming city known for its historical significance, cultural events, and picturesque landscapes.


Sharing City – Bruges, with its charming canals, medieval architecture, and cobblestone streets, is a picturesque city that invites visitors to step back in time.


Sharing City – Windhoek, Namibia’s capital, stands as a unique blend of modernity and cultural diversity, where colonial history intertwines with vibrant local traditions against the backdrop of stunning landscapes.


Sharing City – Antananarivo, the capital city of Madagascar, captivates visitors with its bustling markets, and the vibrant colors and rhythms of Malagasy culture.


Sharing City – Quelimane, located along the picturesque Quelimane River in Mozambique, is a historic coastal city with vibrant markets, and a deep maritime heritage.


Sharing City – Lusaka, the bustling capital of Zambia, epitomizes the nation’s dynamic spirit, blending modernity with cultural richness, offering a diverse array of attractions, from vibrant markets to historical landmarks.


Sharing City – Tamale, Ghana, a fast-growing hub in the Northern Region, strategically links European and West African markets.


Sharing City – Niamey, Niger, the capital city situated along the banks of the Niger River, offers a vibrant tapestry of culture, blending traditional markets, modern development, and the scenic riverfront.


Sharing City – Dakar, Senegal, features a vibrant urban food system with bustling markets highlighting diverse fresh produce, locally sourced ingredients, and a rich culinary tapestry, reflecting the city’s dynamic and interconnected food culture.


Sharing City – Chefchaouen, Morocco, known for its blue-washed streets in the Rif Mountains, boasts a vibrant food scene where local markets highlight the city’s diverse culinary heritage, featuring aromatic spices, traditional tagines, and fresh produce from nearby valleys